Saturday, December 26, 2009

3-day snow festival concludes at Gulmarg

The three days snow festival concluded at Gulmarg with the final matches of Cross country race, 10 km speed skating competition and women’s 5 km cross country race. In speed skating competition Mr. Mushtaq Ahmed got Ist position in 1500 meter race while Tashi thinless and Mr. Yashpaul Purthi secured 2nd and 3rd position respectively. Similarly in junior speed skating , Mr. Rashid Farooq Mr. Moyein Digoo and Mr. Wamiq shafiq bagged Ist, 2nd and 3rd positions. In Sub Junior scakting Mr. Mutaib Digoo and Firdous Ahmed got Ist and 2ndpositions respectively in 500 meter speed skating. In the senior speed skating match, Mr. Vasu Dev Tandi, Mr. Yashpaul Purthi and Mr. Ajit Kumar secured Ist, 2nd and 3rd position respectively. In Mens 10 km Cross Country race, Mr. Angchuk Dorji, Mr. Nadium Iqbal and Bilal Ahmed, got 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. In women’s 5 km cross country race miss Phunchuk Yandon was the only female candidate to bag first position in the race. Later trophies, gold, bronze and silver medals were distributed by Chief Executive Officer Gulmarg Development Authority among the winners on the occasion. The momentous were also awarded to Information Department Jammu and Kashmir by GDA for extending sport and cooperation in holding such occasions. The festival which was witnessed by a large number of tourists culminated with a colorful cultural Programme presented by participants, sport persons, local cultural club and Jhankar group. The snow festival was inaugurated by Minister for Tourism Mr. Nawang Rigzin Jora and MoS Tourism Mr. Nasir Aslam Wani the other day.