Showing posts from June 16, 2009

Put a noose around encroachers: Altaf

Emphasizing on the need to protect the forest wealth of the state from encroachment, Minister for Forest Mian Altaf Ahmad Tuesday directed the officers of the Forest department to conduct demarcation of forest land in a transparent manner so that encroachment can be curbed at all levels.
The minister was speaking at a high-level meeting to review the functioning of Forest department and State Forest Corporation in Jammu division, here today.
Chief Conservator of Forest, Mr. Abhay Kumar, District Forest Officers, General Managers of SFC, other senior officers of Forest department and SFC of Jammu division participated in the meeting. 
Stating that encroachment will not be tolerated at any cost, Mian Altaf called for formulation of a proper demarcation plan involving greater vigil, proper fencing methodology and involvement of locals. He also called for undertaking computerization of forest land records so that proper upkeep of the available resources is possible.
The minister was informed …

Ongoing works in Dal, Nigeen lakes inspected

Chairman, Environment Committee, Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly, Mr. Nizam-u-Din Bhat has said that Dal and Nigeen lakes are national assets and natural beauty of the valley is incomplete without these glorious lakes. 
Mr. Nizam-ud-Din was addressing a high level officers meeting here today, soon after thorough inspection of ongoing restoration and development works under execution in these two lakes.
Stressing for saving these water-bodies from pollution, shrinkage and other damaging factors, Mr. Nizam-ud-Din said that lot of work has been done and more efforts need to be put in to discourage construction of houses, growth of weeds, mushrooming of vegetable gardens and occurrence of azolia in these lakes. 
Members of the Committee which include legislators Nasir Alsam Wani, Radhay Sham Sharma, Rafi Ahmad Mir, Shamima Firdous, Durga dass, Javid Ahmad Dar, Peerzada Mansoor Hussain, Sukhnandan Kumar, Indu Pawar, Baldev Raj and Mushtaq Ahmad Shah and senior officers which include Co…